Domestica: Cleaning Burned Crap Off A Steel Pot

In this weekly feature, I share recipes and household tips & tricks that I probably should have learned in my youth, but didn’t bother to pay attention…. Or, alternately, just useful domestic information for the domestically disturbed.

So, in recent years, I finally learned to make a bad-ass beef stew.  I’ll share that recipe some time, but for now, let’s focus on the problem I have almost every single time afterwards:  a scorched pan due to the braising process.  Don’t ask me why it goes poorly; all I know is that the final stew tastes fabulous.

You’ve got a steel pot and the oil’s left a layer of blackness that is so thin it seems a permanent new colour for the thing.  Scrub all you like with basic soap and water – it laughs maniacally at your efforts and your aching wrists.

Voila!  A solution that works!

I find the vinegar alone is usually enough, but the baking soda is good for the uber disasters.  Household items, easily accessible, life made simpler.  Ta-da!

Also note:  any vinegar will do in a pinch.  I’ve used both apple cider vinegar and malt vinegar when plain old white vinegar wasn’t available.  Acid is acid, my dears.  Half and half it, boil and let sit.  All better!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Domestica: Cleaning Burned Crap Off A Steel Pot

  1. Thomas Ross says:

    It’s a rainy afternoon here and I’m reading some new blogs and I find yours. Your “About Amber Waves” couldn’t be more intriguing. And horror movies mixed with how to clean burned crap off steel pot and then there’s your “furbabies”? I’m in.

    • Amber Waves says:

      Welcome to my wild and whacked-out world! I promise to be spastic, entertaining and sometimes useful! The furbabies welcome you.

Comments are closed.

